Adoor Gopalakrishnan (Sight & Sound) Top 10 Films (2012)

Adoor Gopalakrishnan is an Indian film director, script writer, and producer. He is regarded as one of the most notable filmmakers in India. With the release of his first feature film Swayamvaram (1972), Adoor pioneered the new wave in Malayalam cinema during the 1970s. In a career spanning over five decades, Adoor has made only 12 feature films to date, which are made in the Malayalam language and often depict the society and culture of his native state Kerala. Nearly all of his films premiered at Venice, Cannes and Toronto International Film Festival and along with Satyajit Ray and Mrinal Sen, Adoor is one of the most recognized Indian film directors in world cinema. He has won the National Film Award 16 times, next only to Ray and Sen, and also won the Kerala State Film Awards a record 17 times. He received the Dadasaheb Phalke Award in 2004 for his valuable contributions to Indian cinema.

400 Blows, The 1959 François Truffaut
Andrei Rublev 1966 Andrei Tarkovsky
Boy, The 1969 Oshima Nagisa
Pather Panchali 1955 Satyajit Ray
Pickpocket 1959 Robert Bresson
Puppetmaster, The 1993 Hsiao-hsien Hou
Rashomon 1950 Akira Kurosawa
Round-Up, The 1966 Miklos Jancso
strada, La 1954 Federico Fellini
Tokyo Story 1953 Ozu Yasujirô

The Films of Adoor Gopalakrishnan: A Cinema of Emancipation (New Perspectives on World Cinema) kindle
Adoor Gopalakrishnan (Paperback)
Face-to-Face The Cinema of Adoor Gopalakrishnan (kindle)
The rat trap =: Elippathayam : a film by Adoor Gopalakrishnan (Paperback)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *